Overall Ratings

(17)
4 star
(0)
(1)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)

Review Waterstone Mortgage Run for the Zoo

Average Participant Reviews

Overall
Course
Organization

Most Helpful Review

2.5/5
Course: 3.5/5
Organization: 0.5/5
gone downhill

I guess everything during covid has gone downhill, but this is no exception. The park and ride I was running behind and not often enough so I drove instead. I got to the start line with two minutes to spare and the registration Booth where I would get my Runners number is a great distance away from the start line. It doesn't make any sense. This was the first year I could not get there in person to pick up my Runners badge in advance. Please consider moving that stuff to a table near the start line. In addition because I was late this lady tried to tell me that I could not run. I told her I'm only 2 minutes behind and I went anyway under the rope that they tried to block me. I'm not the type of person that's late to anything... and my tardiness today was only due to the park and ride being backed up. I wasn't the only one upset about this either. Runners should be allowed to start the race a few minutes late...the chip in the badge starts the time whenever you cross start line anyway. To add to it all, after the race, I waited in a line for 5 minutes only to find out it was the wrong line. Was trying to find out my time and of my vest had actually clocked the time. There were a bunch of tents that all look the same and some signs would have been helpful. I saw several people do the same thing. They waited in a line only to be told when they got to the front that they needed to go to another one. All it takes is some printing people come on.

Nathaniel A. 0/0 found this review helpful.
Waterstone Mortgage Run for the Zoo

2022 Waterstone Mortgage Run for the Zoo Info

Purchase 2022 Waterstone Mortgage Run for the Zoo Booth

All Waterstone Mortgage Run for the Zoo Reviews

5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-05-07 14:23:58
Run for the Zoo

Run for the Zoo, now virtually too!

Angel P. has attended 5+ times 1/16 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.5/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-05-16 13:00:02
Ms

I loved going on my own. Atmosphere different but nice. My first time and heat was tough but nice to get out.

Natalie R. has attended 1 times 2/4 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-05-17 11:37:42
10K Virtual Run for the Zoo

Good race! The course I wanted, on the day I wanted to run, and perfect pre & post race accommodations. My pace appears to be off; is the race site going by 6.2 for the 10K or 6 miles?

BJ C. has attended 2 times 0/2 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-05-18 15:47:48
Very Nice Day

Was going to do my 5K on Sunday, but was very windy. Got down to zoo about 6:30 a.m. Monday, May 18. Did a very close approximation of real course. About a minute faster than last year, which 1st in age group then. Hopefully same this year. 70-74.

Rod G. has attended 5+ times 2/2 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 4.5/5
Organization: 4.5/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-05-18 21:08:51
Run for the Zoo STILL going strong

I'm so glad this was organized. I did the very first Run for the Zoo; and with the exception of some off years, I've done every year since. Great "virtual" event!

Kathryn C. has attended 5+ times 1/1 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.5/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-05-19 17:34:03
Special race for a special time

So glad I was able to participate in this special run. :-) I ran a familiar 10K route this morning before it got hot or windy. I look forward to participating in the future. Stay safe and healthy.

Mike M. has attended 2 times 2/2 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-05-21 12:09:32
Anastasia

Perfect way to do this- perfect course, perfect day, with my dog, no other people in sight... would do it this way again!

Anastasia N. has attended 2 times 2/2 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-05-24 09:47:10
race

glad we could do this this way to support the zoo in albuquerque

john s. has attended 2 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-05-24 09:51:52
Thanks for the Opportunity

Had a Nice 5k walk up on Tramway walking path. Wore last years T-shirt and saw others doing it as well. Glad to Donate for the Animals and those Helping them. Keep taking Good care of Them! See You Next Year :)

Clint H. has attended 2 times 2/2 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2021 Race Review
Review On:2021-05-02 12:40:37
Team CABQ Employees

Great Morning! It would be nice if the actual race could utilize some of these back trails in the shade from Tingley to Montano off the pavement. Maybe too much traffic would mess up the trail. Just a thought! A perfect morning to get out and move! Enjoyed it very much!

DJ L. has attended 3 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 4.5/5
Organization: 4.5/5
2021 Race Review
Review On:2021-05-03 18:17:10
None stay at home person

I’ve decided to do this challenge this year, and I enjoyed it.

Marlene H. has attended 1 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2021 Race Review
Review On:2021-05-03 19:49:54
Virtual 5k complete!

Post COVID in Feb. it was a little more challenging this time and I did 5k instead of 10k. Still eeked out an avg 11:33 a mile total time 34 minutes 20 seconds!

Luciano V. has attended 2 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2021 Race Review
Review On:2021-05-08 14:04:15
Has been fun for both 2020 and 2021

Probably the best of the virtuals I’ve done over the past year. About 10, and not just ones based I. ABQ. Most complete set of results and very easy to submit results. For 2020 did the actual course. This year just around my neighborhood.

Rod G. has attended 2 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2021 Race Review
Review On:2021-05-09 22:05:39
Run for the Zoo 2021

I have participated in the Albuquerque Run for the Zoo the past two years (virtually). I would recommend keeping an on-line or virtual option available for people like me who hate to deal with crowds of people. I enjoyed the past two years as a participant. I probably will not participate if it is not available to do it on your own. I signed up for the full marathon. I am a walker and I logged 38.5 miles during the 8 days of the Run for the Zoo this year.

Jim E. has attended 2 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2021 Race Review
Review On:2021-05-10 15:50:13
5k walk down Spain Blvd on Friday

3 of us walked Tramway to Wyoming for our 5k WALK FOR THE ZOO last Friday. Nice day overall, gentle downward slope. We'll do this walk again. Glad to help the ABQ BioPark/ Zoo by walking!

N S. has attended 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2021 Race Review
Review On:2021-06-06 19:48:51
2021 Run for the Zoo Albuquerque

This years 2021 Run for the Zoo was great for me. I hate crowds and really enjoyed participating in this event virtually and on my own. I signed up for the marathon. I walked about 36 miles within the 8 days allowed. I would like to do this again on my own, but not in a big crowd downtown.

Jim E. has attended 2 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
2.5/5
Course: 3.5/5
Organization: 0.5/5
2022 Race Review
Review On:2022-05-01 16:57:19
gone downhill

I guess everything during covid has gone downhill, but this is no exception. The park and ride I was running behind and not often enough so I drove instead. I got to the start line with two minutes to spare and the registration Booth where I would get my Runners number is a great distance away from the start line. It doesn't make any sense. This was the first year I could not get there in person to pick up my Runners badge in advance. Please consider moving that stuff to a table near the start line. In addition because I was late this lady tried to tell me that I could not run. I told her I'm only 2 minutes behind and I went anyway under the rope that they tried to block me. I'm not the type of person that's late to anything... and my tardiness today was only due to the park and ride being backed up. I wasn't the only one upset about this either. Runners should be allowed to start the race a few minutes late...the chip in the badge starts the time whenever you cross start line anyway. To add to it all, after the race, I waited in a line for 5 minutes only to find out it was the wrong line. Was trying to find out my time and of my vest had actually clocked the time. There were a bunch of tents that all look the same and some signs would have been helpful. I saw several people do the same thing. They waited in a line only to be told when they got to the front that they needed to go to another one. All it takes is some printing people come on.

Nathaniel A. has attended 3 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2022 Race Review
Review On:2022-05-02 05:28:26
Really great run!

My first event in 8 years. Really enjoyable. Great folks. Well organized. Perfect day. Great local cause to support. What more could one want?

Jennifer T. has attended 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
Page: 1

Waterstone Mortgage Run for the Zoo Review Details

The Waterstone Mortgage Run for the Zoo reviews contained on this site do not neccessarily reflect the opinions of Race Entry or our affiliates. We have methods in place to indicate when a review came from a verified participant. A review without our "verified participant" seal may have still come from a real participant, but we were not able to verify it. Look for Waterstone Mortgage Run for the Zoo verified participant reviews that contain this symbol at the bottom of the review: Waterstone Mortgage Run for the Zooverified review

Write Review