Overall Ratings

(3)
(1)
(4)
(1)
1 star
(0)

Review Sun Marathon

Average Participant Reviews

Overall
Course
Organization

Most Helpful Review

3.5/5
Course: 3.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
Beautiful Course

It is a beautiful course and well organized. Unfortunately it rained a little bit and was very cloudy. Between mile 17 and 23 you have to run alongside a street with more traffic, but it is doable. A large numbers of aid stations which is very good to take only small amounts of refreshment is very positiv.

Joerg Q.0/0 found this review helpful.

Sun Marathon

2020 Sun Marathon Info

Volunteer for 2020 Sun Marathon

All Sun Marathon Reviews

3.0/5
Course: 3.5/5
Organization: 0.5/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-02-05 10:25:19
Beautiful course, poor organization

I realize it was the first running of the race but they had very poor organization. We were freezing at the start for an hour! They promised propane heaters but we only had little wood fires that we had to rotate people around. The course was truly beautiful and I still think I would come back and race, but probably not for several years so the kinks can get worked out first.

Madeline C. has run 1 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
2.5/5
Course: 1.5/5
Organization: 2.5/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-02-05 10:29:35
Didn't meet expectations

Wow, my friend and I were so excited for this inaugural race and were very disappointed. The first part of the course was nice, but there were no cones to block the runners from traffic and no signs to inform drivers to be aware of runners. It was dangerous, we were constantly having to move onto the gravel on the side of the road to avoid being hit by angry drivers! There was absolutely no support of anyone patrolling the course during the race making sure racers were ok.

P P. has run 1 times 2/2 found this review helpful.
4.5/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-02-05 10:56:21
Sun full

Beautiful course with plenty of achievable challenges (hills) along the way. The only thing I would LOVE to see is a BIGGER medal. That's what I think a lot of runners like:) A BIG SUN or something similar would be great!!

Mary L. has run 1 times 1/2 found this review helpful.
4.5/5
Course: 4.5/5
Organization: 4.5/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-02-06 08:56:24
Sun Marathon

Gorgeous scenery. Loved the course except the section along the main highway. Enough traffic that you needed to run to the left of the white line and the pavement there had lots of raised cracks. Small race was great. Great finish location. And the weather could not have been better for relaxing and watching others finish. One more portacan at start would have been helpful.

Jo M. has run 1 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
2.5/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 1.5/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-02-22 09:47:09
Beautiful Race but things lacking...

Beautiful run and the weather was perfect. It was a great way to escape the cold up north and come down to run in the warmer weather. Things that were lacking. I wish the swag was a little bit better to start. More portadumps were needed at the start and more heat to keep warm. During the race wish there was more support. Got yelled at by 2 cars and some cars don't slow down, but not a big deal. I'm one of the suckers that likes a big medal and would like to see a more creative/bigger design.

Ryan L. has run 1 times 1/2 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-05-23 16:23:09
Awesomeness!

I loved this marathon as my absolute first. I highly recommend it. It was perfect weather!!

Karen G. has run 0 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
3.5/5
Course: 3.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2019 Race Review
Review On:2019-02-02 17:55:57
Beautiful Course

It is a beautiful course and well organized. Unfortunately it rained a little bit and was very cloudy. Between mile 17 and 23 you have to run alongside a street with more traffic, but it is doable. A large numbers of aid stations which is very good to take only small amounts of refreshment is very positiv.

Joerg Q. has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
3.0/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 3.0/5
2019 Race Review
Review On:2019-02-02 20:31:59
Nice course; some improvements recommended

A beautiful course for the first 17 miles but heavy traffic on Hwy 91 with narrow riveted shoulder. Starting at 7AM in the dark was awkward and having only 4 porta potties for 112 runners piling off the buses was too few. There was ample water and porta cans enroute

Glenn H. has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
2.0/5
Course: 3.0/5
Organization: 1.0/5
2019 Race Review
Review On:2019-02-04 13:25:19
Nice people and we will not be doing again

First year running this event. Have done a number of full, half, 10K and 5K events. We ran the 10K which started at 10am. Just as the 10K started the first full marathon runners were finishing. So 10K runners were at the ‘start’ waiting to go and marathon runners were ‘finishing’ on the same timing belt. Chaotic and a bit dangerous. And I think it took away some thunder from the marathon runners. At the start we were told to move to the right of runners coming in as we were going out. This wa

Southern Utah R. has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
Page: 1

Sun Marathon Review Details

The Sun Marathon reviews contained on this site do not neccessarily reflect the opinions of Race Entry or our affiliates. We have methods in place to indicate when a review came from a verified participant. A review without our "verified participant" seal may have still come from a real participant, but we were not able to verify it. Look for Sun Marathon verified participant reviews that contain this symbol at the bottom of the review: Sun Marathonverified review

Write Review


Race Entry, Race management software online registration
Volunteer management software with online registration
Event Management software solutions
Rodeo Ticketing Management Software and Participant Management