Race Description

Plans for our 2nd Annual 5K Bird Walk for Recovery are underway

Last year you helped us build the walk - with over 100 participants.

 Let's Top that this year!

We know we can do it with your help.

 

WHAT?

The 5K Bird Walk for Recovery celebrates the recovery community and agencies that provide 'boots on the ground' support and services for people in recovery. 

The 5K Bird Walk for Recovery exists to challenge addiction related stigma, encourage, empower and educate people in recovery, their friends and family.

WHEN?

The 5K Bird Walk for Recovery takes place on Saturday September 2, 2017 at Gleason Park, Gary Indiana.

Walkers will gather at the Club House for check-in/on-site registration and the pre-walk expo.

WHO?

Anyone who wishes to show support for people in recovery can walk.

Walk for a friend or for a family member.

Walk for someone who did not survive their addiction.

WHY?

Because addiction affects everyone - but so does recovery

 

The 5K Bird Walk For Recovery is a tribute to my son Seneca 'Bird' Gibbs who passed away

on August 22, 2015 from complications related to a substance use disorder.

It is Seneca's life and his death that inspires this walk.

  

Advance registration for our September 2 event is not required, but it is encouraged.

Register to receive updates on the day's events, and learn about volunteer and outreach opportunities.

Net proceeds from the 5K Bird Walk for Recovery will be donated to a local charity to support their recovery efforts.   

 

 

 

 

X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X

Bird Walk 4 Recovery Reviews 3.5 - 1 reviews

Review Bird Walk 4 Recovery

3.5/5
Course: 3.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:
Bird Walk 4 Recovery

This is an awesome walk for all to participate in; either we know someone with substance abuse or have suffered ourselves. My daughter and I attended last year and our only regret was that the rest of our family was not there to walk with us. 9.2.17 will be different. Look out for our team "The Flock"; we are excited about supporting efforts to stamp out Substance Abuse and to carry on the legacy of Mr. Seneca "[Baby] Bird" Gibbs, alongside his beautiful family. #tragedy.into.triumph

has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.

View all Bird Walk 4 Recovery reviews.

Contact Information

Name:
Sylvia Gibbs
Email:
birdwalk4Recovery@gmail.com
Website:
 

Bird Walk 4 Recovery - Disclaimer

Other Races You May Want to Consider

Chicago Dresses for Dreams Global 5K

 - 09/02/2019 08:00 (Estimated)
The purpose of the Dresses for Dreams Global 5K is to raise funds for the girl empowerment initiatives of Fields of Dreams Uganda (FoDU). These initiatives serve over 3,000 students and teachers at FoDU's nine partner schools across Uganda. Funds as... read more

Wolf Pack Trail Run and Relay

 - 09/02/2019 08:00 (Estimated)
Who doesn’t love the sound of leaves crunching beneath your feet and the crispness of the air on a November day? Wolf Pack Trail Run and Relay is the perfect way to enjoy all the sights and sounds of the fall season.  Richard Bon... read more

Valparaiso Dresses for Dreams Global 5K

 - 09/02/2019 08:00 (Estimated)
The purpose of the Dresses for Dreams Global 5K is to raise funds for the girl empowerment initiatives of Fields of Dreams Uganda (FoDU). These initiatives serve over 3,000 students and teachers at FoDU's nine partner schools across Uganda. Funds as... read more

Bird Walk 4 Recovery registration logo
Race Information

  •   Course Map
  • Location: Gary, IN
  • Race Date: 09/02/2019 08:00 (Estimated)
  • Categories: 5K Run/Walk, Event Level, Event Level, Eagle level, Robin Level, Dove
  •   Manage My Registration



  • add race to calendar    Add to my calendar 2017-09-02 08:00:00 2017-09-02 08:00:00 America/Chicago Bird Walk 4 Recovery Gary, IN Sylvia Gibbs birdwalk4Recovery@gmail.com
Race Video
Most Helpful Review
3.5/5
Course: 3.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
Bird Walk 4 Recovery

This is an awesome walk for all to participate in; either we know someone with substance abuse or have suffered ourselves. My daughter and I attended last year and our only regret was that the rest of our family was not there to walk with us. 9.2.17 will be different. Look out for our team "The Flock"; we are excited about supporting efforts to stamp out Substance Abuse and to carry on the legacy of Mr. Seneca "[Baby] Bird" Gibbs, alongside his beautiful family. #tragedy.into.triumph

Tenisha F.

Bird Walk 4 Recovery Restaurants & Activities

Below are some of the highest rated restaurants in Gary as well as the highest rated activities in Gary. Extend your experience with all Gary has to offer.

Powered by yelp

Gary things to do and places to eat

Things to do in Gary
  • Michael Jackson's House
    3.5 Based on 29 Reviews
  • ESPA- Day Spa & Holistic Center
    5 Based on 19 Reviews
  • Lake Street Gallery
    5 Based on 5 Reviews
  • Miller Beach
    4.5 Based on 6 Reviews
  • Places to eat in Gary
  • Three Floyds Brewery & Pub
    3.5 Based on 1253 Reviews
  • Bombers BBQ
    4.5 Based on 449 Reviews
  • Calumet Fisheries
    4.5 Based on 396 Reviews
  • Portillo's Hot Dogs
    4 Based on 313 Reviews
  • True BBQ & Whiskey Bar
    4 Based on 284 Reviews
  • Gary, IN Weather
    Bird Walk 4 Recovery weather history
  • Based on a 5 year average and a race date of September 2nd, Gary, IN can expect temperatures between 72℉ and 87℉ with humidity around 71% and precipitation of 0.16".
    Last year the weather condition was Light rain shower.
  • Gary, IN current weather
  • Clear 58℉ Clear


  • Race Entry, Race management software online registration
    Volunteer management software with online registration
    Event Management software solutions
    Rodeo Ticket