Race Description

Come join us for the 5th Annual Swatara Township Police Department 5K Hero Run on November 5, 2017.  This 5K Race is set in a unique location along Tecport Drive and Paxton Street. The theme of the 5K Hero Run relates to everyone whether you know someone in the armed services or public safety sector OR simply have a hero of your own.  This race brings all of us together for one reason, to support our HEROES!  Check out our map of the course by clicking below.  A portion of the race actually takes you through the Harrisburg mall!

This race supports the Keystone Wounded Warriors which aids veterans residing in or who have ties to Pennsylvania, COPS for K.O.P.S which supports the children of fallen police officers in the state of Pennsylvania and the Swatara Township Police Department's Crime Prevention fund.

 

COURSE MAP

 

Registration Fees for 5K:  Guaranteed Dri-Fit Shirt if registered by October 12th.

     $15:  Month of May only!

     $25:  June 1, 2017 through October 12, 2017

     $30:  October 13, 2017 up to the day of the race

Registration Fee for 100 Yard Hero Dash:  Guaranteed Cotton T-Shirt if registered by October 12th.

     $15:  May 1, 2017 up to the day of the race

PARTICIPANTS ARE ENCOURAGED TO COME TO THE RACE DRESSED IN THEIR FAVORITE "HERO'S" OUTFIT OR UNIFORM.

 

Pre-Race Packet Pick Up:

We encourage ALL pre-race day registrants to come to the Pre-Race Packet Pick Up, which will be held on Saturday November 4, 2017 from 9:00am to 12:00pm at Center Court inside the Harrisburg Mall.  This will allow you to pick up your race bib and race shirt (shirt guaranteed if you registered by 10/12/17) so that you have everything you need prior to race day!  

 

Starting at 9:00 A.M. we will have an opening ceremony.  This will include guest speakers and the singing of the National Anthem.  The 5K race starts at 9:30 A.M. followed by the 100 Yard Dash at 9:35 A.M.  

At the conclusion of the race there will be refreshments and an awards ceremony where our Department Challenge Coin Medals for each age group will be given out by our Chief of Police. We will also announce the winners of the fastest overall times for the 5K race, for men and women (cash prizes to be given out).  

We will have two photo booths available FREE OF CHARGE where you can take those memorable pictures with friends and family members.

Place:  Harrisburg Mall

          3351 Paxton Street

          Harrisburg, PA 17111

Parking:  Participants should park in the main parking lot off of Paxton Street along the frontage of Bass Pro Shops and 2nd and Charles.  

Weather:  This event is Rain or Shine!  Registration, Pre-Race Activities, Refreshments and the Awards Ceremony will be taking place inside the mall at center court.

Age Groups:  1-8, 9-12, 13-19, 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60-69, 70+ (groups are separated into men and women)

Prizes:

Challenge Coin/Medals for Men and Women Runners

1st, 2nd and 3rd place medals for the following age groups:

9-12, 13-19, 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60-69, 70+

Cash Prize for Fastest Times Overall for Men and Women:

1st-$100  2nd-$75  3rd-$50

Participation Goody Bags

Ages 1-8 for both the 100 Yard Dash and the 5K Hero Run.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact Corporal Brandon Pokrop at bpokrop@swatarapolice.org OR 717-564-2550.

Check out our video from the 2014 5K Hero Run:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIW93ebJcLI


5K Hero Run - Hosted by the Swatara Township Police Department Reviews 0 - 0 reviews

Be the first to review 5K Hero Run - Hosted by the Swatara Township Police Department

Contact Information

Name:
Brandon Pokrop
Email:
bpokrop@swatarapolice.org
Website:
 

5K Hero Run - Hosted by the Swatara Township Police Department - Disclaimer

5K Hero Run - Hosted by the Swatara Township Police Department registration logo
Race Information

  •   Course Map
  • Location: Harrisburg, PA
  • Race Date: 11/05/2018 11:00 (Estimated)
  • Categories: Running 5K, Walking 5K, 100 Yard Hero Dash, Running 5K : Team
  •   Manage My Registration



  • add race to calendar    Add to my calendar 2017-11-05 11:00:00 2017-11-05 11:00:00 America/New_York 5K Hero Run - Hosted by the Swatara Township Police Department Harrisburg, PA Brandon Pokrop bpokrop@swatarapolice.org