Overall Ratings

(4)
(3)
(1)
(4)
(1)

Review East Canyon Marathon

Average Participant Reviews

Overall
Course
Organization

Most Helpful Review

4.5/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 4.5/5
Great honest run

Small but good marathon. The course is down hill for about 20 then has some rolling hills for the final 10k. There is also a nice climb around mile 12. Aid stations had plenty of supplies. I don't understand why people are mentioning the finish, we ran down a road and turned into a park where the orange traffic cones lead us to a giant inflatable fishing arch. My sister and her husband ran the 5k and enjoyed it also.

JOSHUA B. 1/1 found this review helpful.
East Canyon Marathon

2021 East Canyon Marathon Info

Volunteer for 2021 East Canyon Marathon

All East Canyon Marathon Reviews

4.5/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2016-08-27 08:29:17
Pretty Views

Beautiful vistas of Utah's Wasatch Back mountains. This was a great race that was well organized. The only concern was crazy switchbacks at the end that left runners confused and allowed some to cut off more than 1/2 mile "accidentally."

Michael L. has run 0 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
Response from the Race Director

We fixed the ending. 


3.0/5
Course: 4.5/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2016-08-29 05:44:21
Where are the results?

Too many cars, people, trails and roads to maneuver at the end. Maybe determine a better spot to finish, perhaps in a park or somewhere else where runners do not have to manipulate through these obstacles. Other than that, a beautiful course.

Sharon G. has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
4.0/5
Course: 3.0/5
Organization: 3.0/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2016-08-29 07:09:22
all around ok race

One bus left on time 1/2 marathoners waited another 20 minutes for the last two buses. Very hilly course. For a small race in its first year it was organized ok. The end of the course should have gone through neighborhoods not twisting around out and back that was mentally tough it beat me almost into submission. Luckily I'm a runner and I know how to tell my brain to shut up and just keep my body moving. Results are not all posted as of Monday Afternoon. I would give this race another shot.

Amanda . has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
4.5/5
Course: 4.5/5
Organization: 4.5/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2016-08-29 12:09:49
99% awesome!

25 miles of the course were awesome! A gorgeous run, great time of the year, perfect start time, beautiful course. The end was an issue. Less crowds and being able to see the finish line at least a quarter of a mile out would have been helpful.

Kurt W. has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
4.0/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2016-08-31 16:36:11
addicted2running

Had it not been for the crowded, confusing, dangerous final 1/2 mile, I would have given this marathon 5 stars for everything! The course was beautiful, the weather was perfect, and the support was awesome. The ending was really just sooooo bad. Out and backs are terrible, especially at the end. Hopefully in years to come the finish area will be in a better place. I loved the rest of it so much I want to do it again. :)

Jessi H. has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
Response from the Race Director

We redid the finish line area for the race after the first year. It is much better now. It finishes at the fairgrounds and does not require the zig zag. 


2.0/5
Course: 2.0/5
Organization: 1.0/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2016-09-02 02:54:28
Hilly and unorganized

The beginning of the race was nice. Not excepting the rolling hills. The last mile with running zigzag throughout the parking lot "maze" with people, cars, cones, and not informative staff was extremely frustrating. Especially at the end when tired and just want to be done and have no idea how far you are from the finish line. It was a nice enough experience, not worth the money.

Anonymous D. has run 1 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
2.0/5
Course: 2.0/5
Organization: 2.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-08-27 21:04:35
Meh... I don't think I'll do it again...

The course has some beautiful views and is pretty challenging. It's a very small race, so after about mile 10 I was pretty much alone. No crowd support. No finish line festivities. The only food at the finish line was one girl making peanut butter sandwiches. Medals were not delivered on time. It pretty much just felt like a long training run with aid stations rather than a race for me. It wasn't a horrible race, but I expected a little more.

Heather R. has run 1 times 0/1 found this review helpful.
1.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 0.5/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-08-29 09:17:59
Great Course - Poor Race

Buses 40+ minutes late, no way to mark drop bags, race started late, poor timing tracking, no finishers medals at time of event, poor and limited post race nutrition, drop bag pick up not organized, unorganized ceremonies. The course was beautiful, the event was not. The amount charged is similar to events such as Ogden Half Marathon, Snow Canyon Half Marathon, Top of Utah Half Marathon but the quality does not compare.

Tyler d. has run 1 times 0/1 found this review helpful.
Response from the Race Director
Buses were not late. They were dropping off two shifts of people. We could do one bus load per racer but it would raise the fees around $10.  Sometimes races have to wait a bit for the bus due to
2.0/5
Course: 2.0/5
Organization: 0.5/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-09-02 00:06:27
Do your homework!

I signed up for this race and walked away very disappointed. First of all when you go to order your shirt beware sizes are not what they say they are for they run extremely small. Great views going down canyon but switches to rolling hills so beware. Not very well organized especially at the end. Not worth your time. I would highly recommend Ogden marathon or Huntsville marathon instead.

Victoria C. has run 1 times 1/2 found this review helpful.
2.0/5
Course: 2.0/5
Organization: 2.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-09-03 17:28:06
10k

The race course for the 10k was through a town and not scenic at all. It was an out and back course. My time on the chip time was at least ten minutes off from my actual time. The emails they sent for the race info had tons of typos and they got the start time for the 10k wrong. The directions given before the race were confusing.

Natalie N. has run 1 times 0/1 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-09-07 15:38:01
Marathon 2018

I ran the the full marathon and was very pleased with the race. This is really a little frills race with a modest late registration fee of $65. The course is stunning with lots of downhill. The aid station were every 2 miles and were well-stocked with Powerade, water, and some with gels and fruit. The finish could have been confusing but there were markings and marshals to usher you to the finish. It is also a Boston Qualifier. I recommend this race to those looking for a low-key but fun race.

Steven F. has run 1 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
4.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 3.5/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-09-07 19:20:30
Beautiful

Loved this race! It would be nice if the awards were started faster.

Karen H. has run 0 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
4.5/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 4.5/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-09-10 17:48:04
Great honest run

Small but good marathon. The course is down hill for about 20 then has some rolling hills for the final 10k. There is also a nice climb around mile 12. Aid stations had plenty of supplies. I don't understand why people are mentioning the finish, we ran down a road and turned into a park where the orange traffic cones lead us to a giant inflatable fishing arch. My sister and her husband ran the 5k and enjoyed it also.

JOSHUA B. has run 1 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
Page: 1

East Canyon Marathon Review Details

The East Canyon Marathon reviews contained on this site do not neccessarily reflect the opinions of Race Entry or our affiliates. We have methods in place to indicate when a review came from a verified participant. A review without our "verified participant" seal may have still come from a real participant, but we were not able to verify it. Look for East Canyon Marathon verified participant reviews that contain this symbol at the bottom of the review: East Canyon Marathonverified review

Write Review