Overall Ratings

(7)
(5)
3 star
(0)
(1)
(2)

Review Drop13 Half Marathon & 5K

Average Participant Reviews

Overall
Course
Organization

Most Helpful Review

5.0/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
Karla Coleman

We walked about 15 minutes to get the start line this year. It was cold but we made it. I love this race. The organization is the best in the town.

Karla C.0/0 found this review helpful.

Drop13 Half Marathon & 5K

2020 Drop13 Half Marathon & 5K Info

Volunteer for 2020 Drop13 Half Marathon & 5K

All Drop13 Half Marathon & 5K Reviews

5.0/5
Course: 4.5/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2015 Race Review
Review On:2016-04-16 05:39:01
Beautiful Race!

Great run thanks so much. I wish the metals had the year on them. Thanks to all the great staff and volunteers.

Michael Z. has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-06-06 14:08:58
Favorite half

This is my favorite half... I've done several half marathons down canyons but the last two miles always seems to be boring and in the city ... this one is different... it's a great scenic race from start to finish... And downhill gives you even more momentum and excitement. I LOVE this half.

Cheryl F. has run 0 times 0/1 found this review helpful.
3.5/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 2.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-06-12 11:21:32
Good race

Good race love the course. Medals are getting smaller every year. No swag bag. But I run it because of the course

C W. has run 3 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
Response from the Race Director
If the swag bag is important tell us what you would like to see in it. We do electronic bags because it helps lower waste and easier to to load. Someone suggested a gel packet in it. We will try to do
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.5/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-06-12 19:06:51
Race review

Did not like standing in line for bus for almost an hour otherwise race was super fun and beautiful!

Betty W. has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-06-12 22:20:13
Beautiful!!

The most beautiful run I have done in a while. It was frustrating to see runners bussed up well after the "firm " time limit. But once the race started it didn't matter anymore.

Darra F. has run 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
1.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 1.5/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-07-13 20:50:46
Never again

From riding the bus up (not enough buses) to chaos drop off, one cheap info magazine as swag in the swag bag, to crap food at the finish (people frantically putting together homemade peanut butter sandwiches)...I won't run this race again. Bad organization. Bad swag. Bad food at finish, bad support at the end.

Tonia F. has run 1 times 0/1 found this review helpful.
Response from the Race Director
Can you expound a bit. Bad does not help our feedback? We would like to do better but need your help or suggestions on what we can improve on outside of saying bad. We had ice cream, peanut butter san
0.5/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 0.5/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-07-27 21:04:59
Drop 13

This was the most unprepared race I have ever ran. Waited in line for over an hour to load the bus in the morning. NOT ENOUGH PORT-A-PORTIES at aid stations...the lines were so long if you wanted to use them. The food at the end wasn't good. Overall, I was very unsatisfied with this race for the price I had to pay.

Kylee L. has run 1 times 1/2 found this review helpful.
Response from the Race Director
The food at the finish was ice cream, bread, peanut butter, oranges and bananas. We had water and Powerade. If I could ask what you would suggest what would you like to see for food. It is important t
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-08-11 19:33:12
Cool and fast race

awesome race as always!...

Eddie A. has run 0 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
4.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 3.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2018-03-12 10:38:59
Drop 13 Review

Great scenery. Good half marathon for your 1st time. Can earn a PR medal, medal for losing 13+lbs, & finishing. I wish they had more RR along the way.My 1st yr I raced this I skipped the RR at the 1st 2 stops because the lines were crazy only to reach mile 6 to find ONE TOILET!! Unfortunately I HAD to go & lost 20 minutes on my time.Post race food is decent, tec shirts are good. Busing could be better. My sis missed the early start time b/c of the busing problem & we were there sooner than told.

michelle S. has run 2 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
2.0/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 1.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-06-09 11:30:10
Never got any better

The course is beautiful, with plenty of bathrooms. That was about it. The swag was a copy of a magazine puplished last year, and a small plastic garbage sack as a drop bag! They didn't bring clothing down like they said they would. Finish line had very little. No real sponsorships. I've run much smaller cheaper races with better swag and a better finish line. They do offer several medals. Overall it was a disappointment for the cost.

Ashley D. has run 2 times 0/1 found this review helpful.
Response from the Race Director
We do not care about sponsorships like many because they are only a commercial. Often the sponsors give little to no value to the race. Occasionally they will contribute items like key chain but for t
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-08-06 16:44:06
Best Price for Big Cottonwood

No frills race with a great price compared to other races down Big Cottonwood Canyon. If you're comparing this to the Revel BC race ... you're not paying for a Revel experience. But, the course is FASTER than Revel! This is a great course if you're looking for a PR!

J. H. has run 4 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
3.5/5
Course: 3.5/5
Organization: 3.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-09-07 19:32:06
Fun

I absolutely loved the scenery. Fast down hill. A lot of my friends PR'd...but I paced and it was a blast. Didn't like the slope of the road in parts, but was still a lot of fun.

Karen G. has run 0 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
4.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2019-01-14 10:36:08
One of my favorites

I love this race! Beautiful, fast course, and there something magical about running this canyon in June. Even though it can be a bit cold at the start the weather is always wonderful! The bus situation is a bit unorganized but I like the two time options. If you like be be up top early you can, I like the late bus since it still gets us up in time to use the potty and start the race. I like the smaller race and don’t run it for the swag. The medals & drop bags could be a little better.

Mary C. has run 4 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
4.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 3.5/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2019-01-30 17:04:50
Todd Z.

My favorite course down Big Cottonwood Canyon. Nice finish without a lot of flat at the end allows for a strong finish!

todd z. has run 2 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2019 Race Review
Review On:2019-06-09 13:23:46
Karla Coleman

We walked about 15 minutes to get the start line this year. It was cold but we made it. I love this race. The organization is the best in the town.

Karla C. has run 2 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
Page: 1

Drop13 Half Marathon & 5K Review Details

The Drop13 Half Marathon & 5K reviews contained on this site do not neccessarily reflect the opinions of Race Entry or our affiliates. We have methods in place to indicate when a review came from a verified participant. A review without our "verified participant" seal may have still come from a real participant, but we were not able to verify it. Look for Drop13 Half Marathon & 5K verified participant reviews that contain this symbol at the bottom of the review: Drop13 Half Marathon & 5Kverified review

Write Review