Overall Ratings

(9)
(3)
3 star
(0)
(1)
1 star
(0)

Review Cottonwood Heights Thanksgiving Day 5K

Average Attendee Reviews

Overall
Course
Organization

Most Helpful Review

5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
Age Groups

Disappointed that you eliminated the 65-69 age group. Big difference between a 60 year old and a 69 year old. Not as much in a 50-59 division

BERT R. 0/0 found this review helpful.
Cottonwood Heights Thanksgiving Day 5K

2024 Cottonwood Heights Thanksgiving Day 5K Info

2024 Cottonwood Heights Thanksgiving Day 5K Registration

All Cottonwood Heights Thanksgiving Day 5K Reviews

5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2016-12-28 07:29:32
CottonwoodHeights_Thanksgiving5K

fun race - For most individuals it is a fun race to do with family and friends on this Thanksgiving day before a long day of food and football games. For those who are in it to win you can get your trophy or ribbon/award for running faster than the Mayor or Turkey (Depending on the year).

Shawn E. has attended 5+ times 1/1 found this review helpful.
4.5/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2016-12-28 07:38:05
Great first time experience

I walked/ran the 5k on the treadmill for a few weeks in advance to prepare, but that wasn't even necessary. The event was a comically slow mass of jovial/giggling/chatting participants, so I spent the whole time skipping along (happy to have gloves, but wishing I had remembered ear muffs -- maybe have those in next year's participant packet?). Organization was pretty good with some opportunity for improvement in information for beginners. Raffle prizes were fun (won movie tiks)!

Rebecca B. has attended 0 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2017-01-01 04:28:28
Good program!

My daughter ran your 5k last year, and was able to talk her 2 brothers into running it with her this year(all under 30 minutes). My husband, her daughter and boyfriend, and I were on the sidelines watching. We had a blast!! We have decided to make this a Thanksgiving tradition, and hopefully talk her other brother to do it too!! Thank you for all you do!!

Geri C. has attended 2 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.5/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:2017-01-03 08:21:05
Great Family Experience

Pristine and beautiful. The route was in super condition for participants on all levels.

Mona J. has attended 2 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:2017-01-10 14:45:16
Wonderful experience!

My first 5k, and despite the snow and cold it was a great experience!

A R. has attended 1 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-11-22 13:48:58
Very fun

Had a great time!

Megan D. has attended 0 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
4.5/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-11-22 14:15:43
Cottonwood heights 5k

Great tradition for our family

Rod S. has attended 4 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
4.0/5
Course: 4.0/5
Organization: 4.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:2018-11-25 08:50:29
Thanksgiving Run

Great race and way to begin Thanksgiving! Love the inside place to gather and raffle prizes. One suggestion would be to mark each mile so runners have a better idea of distance completed. Thanks!

Robyn P. has attended 1 times 1/1 found this review helpful.
3.5/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2020 Race Review
Review On:2020-11-26 12:44:22
Some sketchy patches

Loved the race and course, but some salt on the road would have been nice since there were some icy places that could have been a little dangerous.

Paula C. has attended 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 4.5/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2019 Race Review
Review On:2022-10-22 12:53:05
How fast is the Mayor?

I've run this race a few times and never beat the mayor. Anyone know his average time?

Linda M. has attended 3 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
2.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 3.5/5
2023 Race Review
Review On:2023-11-23 10:47:12
Great family activity. Don't recommend for runners.

I tried to space this out properly but this website doesn't take into account indents or new lines. My review includes both a review of the Cottonwood Heights 5K course, along with my review of the 5K overall as put on by Cottonwood Heights City. Course: The course was decent. Little more than your average flat land 5K. Running through subdivisions with some inclines and decent declines. Neither of which have much length; though, the course has a good variety of elevation on which to run. Overall I enjoyed the course and it's layout. Overall: As someone who enjoys running, I did not enjoy this 5K. I understand it's put on by Cottonwood Heights City and is mainly meant to be a family activity. Much more of a family activity than an actual 5K. I did not realize that both strollers and dogs were allowed on the course until after I paid my registration fee, more than 2 months prior to race day. Having dogs and strollers is understandable, especially in a family-oriented 5K; but, when most folks with either lack complete etiquette regarding running, or walking, around others it can be challenging for those running the race for the sake of running. Families were standing arm in arm taking up two-thirds of the center of the course, and they didnt even hear me when me yell on your left. I spent a great deal of energy dodging people who weren't paying attention, sacrificing time and patience when I just wanted to complete the 5K for myself. If you have kids who want to join in on a 5K, then this is probably a great activity for you. If you have dogs that you like to leave on a long leash and not pay attention to what they're doing then this is also a great race for you. I would not recommend for experienced runners looking for an easy Saturday break from long distance running.

Brandon P. has attended 1 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
3.5/5
Course: 3.5/5
Organization: 2.5/5
2023 Race Review
Review On:2023-11-23 12:16:39
No water/drinks on the course.

Otherwise great race. Teen kids at station did not have water pre-poured into cups so when the crowd hit they weren’t ready. On our return they had ran out. We are thankful but you can do better than this. Extra table and 2 extra coolers get the cups filled ahead of time. Some people paid $50 for this. My race number is in the thousands. Pay a competent adult to help the kids! Thanks

Karen E. has attended 5+ times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2023 Race Review
Review On:2023-11-23 13:02:52
Age Groups

Disappointed that you eliminated the 65-69 age group. Big difference between a 60 year old and a 69 year old. Not as much in a 50-59 division

BERT R. has attended 5+ times 0/0 found this review helpful.
Page: 1

Cottonwood Heights Thanksgiving Day 5K Review Details

The Cottonwood Heights Thanksgiving Day 5K reviews contained on this site do not neccessarily reflect the opinions of Race Entry or our affiliates. We have methods in place to indicate when a review came from a verified attendee. A review without our "verified attendee" seal may have still come from a real attendee, but we were not able to verify it. Look for Cottonwood Heights Thanksgiving Day 5K verified attendee reviews that contain this symbol at the bottom of the review: Cottonwood Heights Thanksgiving Day 5Kverified review

Write Review