Race Description

 

Welcome to the Miles for Mila 5k Walk/Run registration and donation page!  The Miles for Mila 5k Walk/Run was created to honor the memory of our beloved daughter Mila Laurine Kirk, who was born sleeping on June 19, 2015.  Our 1st annual 5k walk/run was held on June 19, 2016, Mila's first birthday.  It was a tremendous success that exceeded our wildest dreams.  Over 190 people participated in the Walk/Run and we raised over $6,500 for Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep, a non-profit organization that provides photographs and care packages to families who go through the excruciating pain of losing a child.  For the 2nd annual Miles for Mila 5K walk/run held on June 18, 2017, we were humbled again, raising enough money for the purchase of two cuddle cots, one each donated to two community hospitals, Ascension Crittenton Hospital in Rochester, Michigan and Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Michigan.

As great as it was to accomplish what we did in the last two years from the generosity of family, friends, and strangers who became friends, we want to accomplish more for our 3rd annual Miles for Mila 5K Walk/Run.

This year we have chosen Ele's Place as our recipient of the funds raised from the Miles for Mila 5K walk/run.  Ele's Place is a nonprofit, community-based organization dedicated to creating awareness of and support for grieving children and their families.  Through peer support group programs, Ele's Place helps children cope with the death of a parent, sibling, or other loved one.  We chose this organization as it is very near and dear to our hearts.  We are still coping with the loss of Mila on a daily basis, especially our son Henry, who misses his sister tremendously.  Ele's place was established in 1991 and is named in the honor of Ele Stover who died in 1989 at the age of 11 months.  Ele is survived by four siblings whose lives will be forever affected by her life, illness and death.

Ele's place specializes in childhood grief and bereavement support groups.  There are four locations in Michigan including Flint, Lansing, Ann Arbor and Grand Rapids.

Please visit www.elesplace.org for additional information on this great organization.

Please consider coming out to Independence Oaks County Park in Clarkston, Michigan on Sunday October 7th, 2018 to participate in this tremendous event for a great cause.  Independence Oaks County Park is located at 9501 Sashabaw Rd, Village of Clarkston, MI 48348.

Registration is open through the morning of the 5K Walk/Run, but in order to receive a tee shirt, you must register by September 15th, 2018.  Children 10 and under are free.

If you choose not to participate in the 5K Walk/Run, but would like to make a monetary donation, we would be extremely grateful of your generosity.  Donations can be made through this race page by clicking the donate button or by contacting Mila's parents, Gregg Kirk (gkirk4677@gmail.com) or Sarah Kirk (sastrat1@aol.com).

We look forward to seeing you on Sunday, October 7th, 2018!

Check us out at http://www.milesformila.org or on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/milesformila/ 

 

 


Miles for Mila Reviews 4.8 - 3 reviews

Review Miles for Mila

5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:
Great Experience

A truly amazing charity. Trail is beautiful. Definitely would recommend.

has run 2 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2018 Race Review
Review On:
Hi!

My family and I love this race. It is very well organized and is for an amazing cause.

verified runner race review has run 2 times 0/0 found this review helpful.
4.5/5
Course: 4.5/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2016 Race Review
Review On:
Awesome Experience

This race was very well organized. It was also a challenging 5k as it was a trail run in Independence Oaks. The best part was that it supported such a great cause. Looking forward to running this again in 2017.

has run 1 times 1/1 found this review helpful.

View all Miles for Mila reviews.

Contact Information

Name:
Sarah Kirk
Email:
sastrat1@aol.com
Website:
 

Miles for Mila - Disclaimer

Miles for Mila registration logo
Race Information

  • Location: Village of Clarkston, MI
  • Race Date: 10/07/2019 09:00 (Estimated)
  • Categories: Miles for Mila
  •   Manage My Registration



  • add race to calendar    Add to my calendar 2018-10-07 09:00:00 2018-10-07 09:00:00 America/New_York Miles for Mila Village of Clarkston, MI Sarah Kirk sastrat1@aol.com
Most Helpful Review
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
Great Experience

A truly amazing charity. Trail is beautiful. Definitely would recommend.

Ashley D.

Miles for Mila Restaurants & Activities

Below are some of the highest rated restaurants in Village of Clarkston as well as the highest rated activities in Village of Clarkston. Extend your experience with all Village of Clarkston has to offer.

Powered by yelp

Village of Clarkston things to do and places to eat

Things to do in Village of Clarkston
  • Miss Molly's Diner
    3.5 Based on 47 Reviews
  • MJR Waterford Digital Cinema 16
    4.5 Based on 50 Reviews
  • Hamlin Pub
    3 Based on 47 Reviews
  • MEX Great Lakes Crossing
    3.5 Based on 107 Reviews
  • Sea Life Michigan Aquarium
    3 Based on 131 Reviews
  • Places to eat in Village of Clarkston
  • Toast
    4 Based on 733 Reviews
  • Union Woodshop
    4.5 Based on 709 Reviews
  • Social Kitchen & Bar
    3.5 Based on 523 Reviews
  • Mad Hatter Bistro
    3.5 Based on 494 Reviews
  • Uptown Grille
    3.5 Based on 480 Reviews
  • Village of Clarkston, MI Weather
    Miles for Mila weather history
  • Based on a 5 year average and a race date of October 7th, Village of Clarkston, MI can expect temperatures between 71℉ and 79℉ with humidity around 83% and precipitation of 0.2".
    Last year the weather condition was Moderate or heavy rain shower.
  • Village of Clarkston, MI current weather
  • Mist 30.5℉ Mist


  • Race Entry, Race management software online registration
    Volunteer management software with online registration
    Event Management software solutions
    Rodeo Ticket