Race Description

This 5K is a Special Fun Run & 5K (Run/Walk) In Loving Memory of JaJuan McDowell. JaJuan's innocent life was tragically taken at the age 14 due to a preventable gun incident on April 7, 2016. JaJuan was a giving and loving child. He loved helping others and would often tell his peers that it was ok to be different. He loved animals, especially reptiles. Our weekends wasn't complete without a trip to Pet Smart. JaJuan was a fun and loving child who loved nature and he loved being outside in the yard looking for lizards, insects and bugs ~ The 5K is conveniently on Earth Day.

The Fun Run & 5K will be held at Savannah State University, on campus, located at 3219 College St, Savannah GA 31404 with a start time of 8:30AM.

Proceeds from the 5K will be divided between Be S.M.A.R.T. Campaign for Gun Safety to save lives and an Educationally Speaking Scholarship.

The Be S.M.A.R.T. campaign was created to bring together all responsible adults to reduce the number of unintentional shootings that occur when children get ahold of an unsecured firearm. Be S.M.A.R.T (S)ecure guns in homes and in vehicles , (M)odel responsible Behavior, (A)sk about unsecured guns in other homes, (R)ecognize the risks of teen suicides , & (T)ell your peers to Be Smart.

Help us Save a Life & Stop Preventable Gun Accidents!

Pre -register by 4/1/17 to guarantee a t-shirt.

Medals to standard age groups. Age 7-74.

Seeking sponsors and vendors, logos due by 3/28/17  

Direct donations and additional t-shirts may be made via PayPal at (friends & family) kellycasey@bellsouth.net or by check.

 

We hope to see you there to support our cause and most importantly honor JaJuan! In memory of a loving, fun and unforgettable child: JaJuan Z. McDowell 3/7/02-4/7/16

 

 

 

X

Jajuan's Fun Run & 5K Reviews 5 - 3 reviews

Review Jajuan's Fun Run & 5K

5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:
Amazing Race to bring awareness to an issue that so many ignore.

This was my first race and it exceeding my expectations. My family and I will be back next year!!! Keep up the good work and we are well pleased.

verified runner race review has run 1 times0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:
Loved It!!!

We enjoyed the race and the environment. We will be back next year!!!

verified runner race review has run 1 times0/0 found this review helpful.
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
2017 Race Review
Review On:
I will be back next year

Everything about this race was amazing. It was well organized and truly an inspiring for all of us. Keep up the good work and see you all next year.

verified runner race review has run 1 times0/0 found this review helpful.

View all Jajuan's Fun Run & 5K reviews.

Contact Information

Name:
Kelly Bourbon
Email:
gunnersrunnerschd@gmail.com
Website:
 

Jajuan's Fun Run & 5K - Disclaimer

Jajuan's Fun Run & 5K registration logo
Race Information

  • Location: Savannah, GA
  • Race Date: 04/22/2018 09:30 (Estimated)
  • Categories: Individual, 5k Fun Run , Age 0-15
  •   Manage My Registration

  • add race to calendar    Add to my calendar 2017-04-22 09:30:00 2017-04-22 09:30:00 America/Denver Jajuan's Fun Run & 5K Savannah, GA Kelly Bourbon gunnersrunnerschd@gmail.com
Most Helpful Review
5.0/5
Course: 5.0/5
Organization: 5.0/5
Amazing Race to bring awareness to an issue that so many ignore.

This was my first race and it exceeding my expectations. My family and I will be back next year!!! Keep up the good work and we are well pleased.

most helpful race review Barbara Y.