Race Description

4th Annual Brain Health to Beat Stroke 5k Run, Walk , Roll

August 11, 2018

Why You Should Register?

Your Personal Benefits.

  • A Great Experience

  • Challenge Yourself

  • Maintain or Improve Your Health

  • Physical Activity and Experiential

  • A Highly Regarded Event

  • A Great Location

  • Competitive Fun

  • Great for Spectators and Supporters

  • Help a Worthy Cause

 

Save Lives and Make a Difference Locally

HELP INCREASE STROKE AWARENESS AND BEAT STROKE

Participate in memory of a loved one as stroke is the 3rd leading cause of death in the Central Valley and remains the #1 cause of long-term disability!!

5K Route and Map

This route is disability-friendly. The Champions Walk will be designated just beyond the darker lines indicated on the map.

For stroke survivors and others who are recoverying from a brain injury, we hope that you will participate at any level of ability. Sign up for the Champion's Walk or Roll.

You can still register on-site at Fleet Feet in Stockton"s Lincoln Center, Friday, August 10, 2018, 12pm-5pm. You are also welcome to come early the day of the event and register.

Registration begins at 6:45 AM on August 11, 2018. Teams are also welcome. Be sure to make sure your team gets the credit.

Warm-Ups: There will be some short warm up exercises and stetches before the 5K. In practice for this event you are encouraged to practice before the 5K. Here is a link including stretch exercises. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TIRWwiAflw

Mayor Michael Tubbs Kicks Off the 5K

Competitive and Fun!

It's a Family Affair!

Early Packet Pickup

Beat the crowds on race day and pick up your race packet early at Fleet Feet Stockton, 277 Lincoln Center on Friday, AUGUST 10, 2018 from 12:00 pm to 6:00 pm. (Must be registered online or received via U.S. Mail or fax by JULY 28, 2018. All others can pick up their packet on race day.

Packets will include:

  • a map of the route

  • a t-shirt

  • your bib for race participants

  • snacks

_____________________________________________________

SPECIAL PRIZES FOR TEAM AND INDIVIDUAL FUNDRAISERS!!!!

* Together we can beat stroke!

* Congratulations to the team, " The Cerebellums", representing Dignity Health, St. Joseph's Hospital. They had over 50 Team Members including all ages.

* HEALTH PLAN OF SAN JOAQUIN'S " WALK FOR HEALTH" TEAM

Awards

Pre-registered Survivors of Stroke, TBI or other brain-related illnesses will receive a Champion's Finisher's Medal.

VIP Teams: Teams and/or individuals that raise $2,500+ will be recognized as a "Very Important Team".

Medals

Medals will be awarded to the top three finishers in the Male and Female categories. Awardees must be present.

Ribbons

Ribbons will be given to all pre-registered children under 12 years of age.

 

Champion's Walk and Roll

Survivors of Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury, Concussions or other brain-related illnesses are invited to participate. Fighting for recovery? We are here to support YOU!

Participating in Our Champions Walk and Roll is FREE for Survivors. Your help in raising funds supporting our work to increase awareness is most appreciated.

Don't forget to bring your signs!! We want to celebrate your victory!!

Participants in the Champion's Walk must be registered. There is no charge for stroke survivors and their escort to participate in the Champions Walk. A Release Waiver must be signed by ALL registered participants. It is a special day for ALL participants.

Champion's Route: This is a shortened version of the 5K. Helpers will be available to assist our champions. The route is wheelchair-friendly.

Making progress? Great. We are your Cheerleaders!

FAQs

What are my transport/parking options getting to the event?

McLeod Lake Park in Webers Point is centrally located in downtown Stockton, CA. RTD stops right at the park.

According to Jon Wright, Recreation Supervisor for the city of Stockton, there are hundreds of free parking spaces downtown near McLeod Park including on Lindsay, spaces ajacent to Martin Luther Park (located across the street), parking lot north of the Civic Auditorium and West of the Civic Auditorium near the old EDD Building.

Vendors, Exhibitors, Sponsors and Suppliers: Please get to the park to unload by 6:15am. The streets are going to be blocked at 7:00am. NO cars can be parked in the blocked areas!!!

Do I have to bring my printed ticket to the event?

It is convenient if you have a printed ticket to minimize error. However, we will have a list of everyone registered on Eventbrite and/or by mail or fax. Our goal is for registration to move quickly. That can happen with your help. Pre-register, pick up your packet on Friday (if possible) or arrive early.

Refunds and Transfers

This event takes place rain or shine. There will be no refunds. Donations are tax-deductible.

Bib registration transfers from registered entrants can be transferred to another person 30-days before the event.

That should do it, but if you still have other questions, please don't hesitate to contact Mary Nicholson, the administer of this site at mary_nicholson@healingsinmotion.com or call 877-672-4480. Ext. 5. We are excited about this great event to increase stroke awareness and BEAT STROKE.


Important Disclaimer: By registering to participate in this 5K Run/Walk you release Healings in Motion from any and all liabilities. In addition you acknowledge and grant the usuage of any photos or videos generated and used for promotional purposes by Healings in Motion, the city of Stockton, CA, sponsors and/or its affiliates.


BRAIN HEALTH to BEAT STROKE 5K RUN, WALK or ROLL Reviews 0 - 0 reviews

Be the first to review BRAIN HEALTH to BEAT STROKE 5K RUN, WALK or ROLL

Contact Information

Name:
Event Director
Email:
dnuss@pacific.edu
Website:
 

BRAIN HEALTH to BEAT STROKE 5K RUN, WALK or ROLL - Disclaimer

BRAIN HEALTH to BEAT STROKE 5K RUN, WALK or ROLL registration logo
Race Information

  • Location: Stockton, CA
  • Race Date: 08/11/2018 06:45 (Saturday)
  • Categories: 5K (13 years & older), 5K (12 years & under), Survivors Champions Walk or Roll
  •   Manage My Registration

  • add race to calendar    Add to my calendar 2018-08-11 06:45:00 2018-08-11 06:45:00 America/Los_Angeles BRAIN HEALTH to BEAT STROKE 5K RUN, WALK or ROLL Stockton, CA Event Director dnuss@pacific.edu
Stockton, CA Weather
Stockton, CA current weather
  • Clear 67.3℉ Clear